Tag, You’re It

Hide and seek. It’s like hide and seek. It’s like follow the leader. It’s wild and crazy. It’s terrifying, because what if- oh, there you are.

Following after Jesus is like this. Like the wildest game of tag you’ve ever played. When I came here, it’s like God said to me

Tag, you’re it.

And I finally caught up to him, laughing, in awe of how he never really left. Jesus is really not great at hide and seek, he’s like that one kid you can hear giggling, arms and legs sticking out from behind a tree. They aren’t hiding to hide, they are hiding to be found. 

And sometimes you get scared, because he found a really good spot this time, and you get a little nervous, and then you hear a chuckle from behind the shower curtain.

I couldn’t stop playing if I wanted to. This is missions for me. Jesus says, tag you’re it and there is a compulsion in my soul that needs to find him.

I am captivated. 

I was talking with someone here in Kristiansand, the brother of one my roommates’ boyfriend. And we began to talk about what brought me here.

The short story? Madison and Kristiansand are connected by a lot of people who recommended it, I didn’t wanna wait.

The long one? Tag, you’re it.

God is moving here in Europe. You can taste it, you can feel it, it builds every time I talk to someone. We are collectively hearing a giggle from behind the tree and Jesus, we want to be where you are. We don’t want to miss it, we don’t want to ignore where you’re moving. Europe is reviving, and I don’t want to miss a second of it.

There are refugees in the farmland of Sweden who need to see the love of Jesus in a way that they can touch, taste, hear, see, because they are waiting and no one is coming. Girls in the red lights of Berlin, literally living in hell on earth. I hate to paint it so negatively, and don’t get me wrong, there are people going. There are people to whom this is ludicrous, who are radically following Jesus, desperate to find him where he is. Psalms says it like this:

“He raises the poor from the dust And lifts the needy from the ash heap, to make them sit with princes, With the princes of His people.” Psalm 113:7

“Because of the devastation of the afflicted, because of the groaning of the needy, Now I will arise,” says the LORD; “I will set him in the safety for which he longs.” Psalm 12:5

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me. Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you? The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” Matthew 25: 34-40

Jesus identified so closely with the poor, with the needy, he says do it or don’t to those who need it, it’s as if you were doing it to me.  Jesus says, meet me here. Meet me among the poor, among the needy. Meet me here.

God is here, in Scandinavia, reviving hearts, changing minds, awakening souls.

God is here, in Europe, awakening new life. I don’t want to miss a second of it. I don’t want to miss a second of what he’s saying, what he’s doing, where he’s moving. It’s coming alive, and I couldn’t bring myself to be anywhere else.

“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,to proclaim freedom for the captives;” Isaiah 61:1

There is so much more to that verse. All of the good things the Lord has to proclaim over those he loves. Because he loves us, so, so much.

Tag, you’re it.

God is inspiring some cool things here, so look for a few announcements over the next few days. Thanks as always for reading. If you’d like to partner with me, in what God is doing here in Scandinavia, head here to financially partner with me. Your money goes directly to personal expenses while here in Norway, as well as some exciting opportunites to reach out into Scandinavia as a whole. More on that later. 

Leave a Reply

